A few fun facts about Joss Whedon

While on holiday I read Amy Pascale’s really very good biography, Joss Whedon: Geek King on the Universe, published in 2014. It’s a bit rose-tinted, of course, but well-researched and well-written. An easy and informative read. Here are a few of the things I learned that I did not know before:

  • Whedon gave copies of Scott McCloud’s Understanding Comics to his writers on Buffy.
  • When preparing Serenity (the motion picture), Whedon was advised by his mentor (Wesleyan professor Jeanine Basinger) to re-watch The Furies (Mann, 1950) and Johnny Guitar (Ray, 1954).
  • The name of Whedon’s production company, ‘Mutant Enemy’, comes from the lyrics of the Yes song ‘And You and I’, which appears on their 1972 album Close to the Edge.
  • On the set of the Avengers, Whedon drank copious amounts of a mixture of distilled water, lemon juice, agave and cayenne pepper.*

*Intrigued, I decided to try this myself. However, until writing this blog just now, agave had become guava in my head, and therefore in my drink too. I am pleased to report that this is a successful variation.

Leave a Reply

