I’m something of a connoisseur of acknowledgments pages in books.  This paragraph by film scholar James Lastra about his colleague Miriam Hansen (who has sadly since died) is particularly touching.

My deepest affection and respect go to Miriam Hansen, who has done more to shape my life and work over the past few years than I can adequately express.  Intellectually fearless, committed, brilliant, and original, she has served as a model for what a scholar and a teacher should be.  I have learned from her not only how to be a better academic but also how to be a better colleague.  More important, she has shown me what it means to have strength, integrity, and wisdom.  The book spends a great deal of time pondering the inhuman.  Miriam has expanded my understanding of what it means to be truly human.

James Lastra. Sound Technology and the American Cinema: Perception, Representation, Modernity. Columbia University Press, 2000.

Leave a Reply

